The Title Race Page 2017

Last updated : 07 May 2017 By Jim Bonner

The season is over and the dust has settled. Here are the final standings for anyone living under a rock or for those who still can't believe the events of yesterday.

1st: Portsmouth - 87pts (+39) - CHAMPIONS

Form: WDWWWW (16 points from the last 18)

Summary: So, after 46 matches, Pompey have been crowned champions of League Two following a 6-1 thrashing of Cheltenham on the final day. Paul Cook's men spent a total of 34 minutes at the top of the league but finished there and that's all that mattered as an unlikely title win was confirmed.

2nd: Plymouth Argyle - 87pts (+25) - PROMOTED

Form: WDWDWD (12 points from the last 18)

Summary: A draw wasn't enough at Blundell Park for Argyle in the end as they were pipped to the title by Pompey on goal difference, a fact which Plymouth fans will surely be reminded about when we go to Home Park next season!

3rd: Doncaster Rovers - 85pts (+ 31) - PROMOTED

Form: WDLLLL (4 points from the last 18)

Summary: Plymouth may be talked about as bottlers but Doncaster needed just three points from their last four matches and yet somehow contrived to lose all of them! 

How League One is shaping up next season

Pompey may be going up with Doncaster and Plymouth but who joins them is anyone's guess.

Blackpool will take on Luton in the whilst Exeter play Carlisle in the play-off semi-finals.

Rotherham's New York Stadium will be a new ground for Pompey fans to visit after the Millers were relegated from the Championship following an extremely poor season. Wigan and Blackburn, two teams that Pompey haven't played since the Premier League days, will join them.

In terms of who Pompey won't be playing next season, Sheffield United won League One whilst Bolton have joined them. Millwall will play Bradford in the League One play-off final.

Portsmouth will be passing Paul Cook's former club Chesterfield on the way up as they have been relegated along with Coventry, Port Vale and Swindon.