League One Lineup Complete

Last updated : 28 May 2017 By Jim Bonner

Blackpool's victory over Exeter in the League Two play-off final today has completed the League One lineup for the 2017/2018 season.

Portsmouth have been made second-favourites for the title behind Blackburn Rovers by the bookies at this early stage but nothing should be read into that as the clubs with the larger fanbases tend to have their odds shortened due to the fans of those clubs being more likely to bet on their own team.

In reality, whilst Blackburn are rightly favourites (ad this very early stage) having been relegated from the Championship on goal difference, there will be other clubs more likely to challenge for promotion from League One than Pompey in this current moment in time.

Wigan Athletic should be a force in League One next season, whether they have Paul Cook in charge or not. Given the rumours of the kind of financial deal they're willing to offer the Pompey manager to prise him away from Fratton Park, it seems pretty clear that they've got some financial clout on top of a squad which should perform well in the third tier.

The likes of beaten play-off finalists Bradford City along with Southend United, Bristol Rovers, Oxford United and Fleetwood Town will also expect to challenge again. Therefore it would be unrealistic for anyone to expect a promotion challenge from promoted Portsmouth, especially as the managerial situation is so unclear.

However, from a fans' perspective, the most striking thing about League One next season is just how northern it is with virtually half of the division's teams located upward of the midlands. Pompey supporters will have to travel a fair few miles next season when going to support their team on the road!

The fixtures for next season will be released on Wednesday, June 21st with the opening day kicking off on Saturday, August 5th.

League One Teams 2017/2018

AFC Wimbledon

Blackburn Rovers


Bradford City

Bristol Rovers


Charlton Athletic

Doncaster Rovers

Fleetwood Town


Milton Keynes Dons

Northampton Town

Oxford United

Peterborough United

Plymouth Argyle



Rotherham United

Scunthorpe United

Shrewsbury Town

Southend United


Wigan Athletic